Climbing is Hard

Happy (post) Thanksgiving everyone! Time to get back on the bike and work off all of that turkey!

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday week and got to enjoy good food and time with friends and family. I have been neglecting this blog a little bit, but I am back with some training updates after a nice little break.

So, as many of you know, climbing is hard. And I will be doing a lot of it over the next few months to prepare for the 40,000ft of it that I will have to do in the Yak Attack next year. This past week I had an interesting contrast in the amount of climbing I did and I though I would share.

It is has become a tradition in my family over the last few years to spend Thanksgiving in Hilton Head, South Carolina. During these week long vacations, my Dad and I have taken to renting road bikes so we can get some rides in and burn off all that turkey and stuffing. Hilton Head is both good and bad for cyclists. It is great because it is covered in bike paths, which makes it very easy to get around on bike. It is bad because the roads are very bike unfriendly (no shoulders whatsoever) and anyone who has done it knows that riding a road bike exclusively on a bike path can be frustrating. Luckily, I used this week as some active recovery time, so I didn’t have to worry too much about how fast I was going or how hard I was working. In total we rode four times, for a total of just under 100 miles. During those four rides, we climbed a total of just over 500ft. Hilton Head is FLAT! Great for recovery, but not exactly the best training for Yak Attack.

I got back to Colorado Saturday evening, and yesterday my friend Andrew and I decided

Andrew and I at Echo Lake near the top of Squaw Pass. Its about 30 degrees out!

we were going to get some climbing in. We have been wanting to climb Squaw Pass on final time this year, before it got too cold, and yesterday presented a perfect opportunity. For those of you who don’t know, Squaw Pass traverses from Evergreen CO to Idaho Springs, CO peaking at over 11,000ft above sea level. Basically, this ride was the exact opposite of what I was doing in Hilton Head. I have to say, climbing for almost 30 miles straight was definitely a bit of a shock to the system, but standing at the top of an 11,000 foot pass in the middle of November on a bluebird day in Colorado was incredibly rewarding. In total, our ride was 73 miles and we did over 7,600 ft. of climbing. Almost 15 times what I did in Hilton Head!

There will be lots more climbing to be done before I head out to Nepal in February, and this ride felt like a great start!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Climbing is Hard

  1. iamkitrecca says:

    Reblogged this on iam(theReal)KitRecca and commented:
    Rob’s got wisdom, yes he do. Rob’s got wisdom, how ’bout you?

Leave a Reply

